Clippix ETC: An online picture service of Florida's Educational Technology Clearinghouse

picture sizes
Castillo de San Marcos Aerial Perspective Drawing, 1987

Castillo de San Marcos Aerial Perspective Drawing, 1987

This aerial perspective drawing acted as the cover sheet for the 1987 addendum to the original set of 1936 drawing of the Castillo de San Marcos. The fort is viewed from the southwest. The sheet also includes a nine-paragraph history of the fort beginning with the following text:

”Castillo de San Marcos was the principle fortification en the regional defense system which ensured the Spanish presence in Florida for 235 years (1565-1763 and 1784-1821). It also is a unique specimen of long-vanished styles of military architecture and engineering.”

The Castillo de San Marcos was renamed Fort Marion after the United States acquired Florida from Spain in 1821. In 1942, Congress restored the original name.

Drawn 1987 by Michael T. Webb as a part of the Historic American Buildings Survey. Drawing was downloaded from the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. and photo edited by the Florida Center for Instructional Technology.

Galleries: Architectural Drawings, Forts and Fortifications, St. Johns
Keywords: Castillo de San Marcos, Fort Marion, St. Augustine, aerial perspective, drawing, fort
Photo Location: Castillo de San Marcos, St. Augustine, FL
Photographer: Michael T. Webb
Date of Photo: 06/10/1909
Original Dimensions: 5000×3379
Picture Orientation: Landscape
GPS Coordinates: 29°53′52″N 81°18′41″W
Picture Number: 26122