mapsMaps ETC Site map
 Maps ETC > Oceania > Complete Maps > Australian Island Chain, 1890
Site Map 

Australian Island Chain, 1890

Title: Australian Island Chain
Projection: Unknown,
Source Bounding Coordinates:
W: E: N: S:

Back to Map Page
Description: "The Australasian Chain sweeps in a double curve from the Sunda Islands to New Zealand, and consists of a number of parallel island-ranges. a. The Sunda Islands, curving from northwest to east, and including Sumatra, Java, Sumbawa, Flores, etc. b. Ceram, New Guinea, and the Louisiade Archipelago, trending nearly northwest and southeast. In their continuation lie New Caledonia and Loyalty Islands. c. The Admiralty, Solomon, Santa Cruz, and New Hebrides islands having the same trend as the preceding chain, and accompanying it on the northeast. d. New Zealand, the southeastern terminus of the Australasian chain. Its northern end points toward New Caldonia, but the greater part curves southwest and is parallel to the coast of the Australian continent. Tasmania is a direct continuation of the principal chain of the Australian mountains." (— Brewer, 1890)
Source: William H. Brewer Ph.,D., Warren's New Physical Geography (Philadelphia, PA: Cowperthwait and Company, 1890) 41
Map Credit: Courtesy the private collection of Roy Winkelman.
SearchLicensePDF HelpGIS Help Google Earth Help Zoomify Help

 Maps ETC > Oceania > Complete Maps > Australian Island Chain, 1890
Site Map