Structure of the Teeth

| View Cart ⇗ | Info

Structure of the teeth. A tooth consists of 3 structures, the dentine (2), or ivory, the proper dental substance, forming the larger portion; the enamel or adamant (3), a layer covering the crown; and the cement (1), a thin layer on the surface of the fang. A central chamber, the pulp-cavity, occupies the interior, and contains the pulp, a soft, vascular, and sensitive organ, surrounded by a layer of cells, the odonto-blasts, or dentine-forming cells.


Metheny, D. Gregg Potter's Compend of Human Anatomy 8th Ed. (Philadelphia: P. Blakiston's Son & Co., 1915) 317


TIFF (full resolution)

813×2400, 1.2 MiB

Large GIF

346×1024, 157.4 KiB

Medium GIF

216×640, 71.5 KiB

Small GIF

108×320, 18.8 KiB