Charlotte Brontë

Charlotte Brontë

Charlotte Brontë was an English novelist and the eldest of the three Brontë sisters whose novels have become classics of English literature: Charlotte's Jane Eyre, Emily's Wuthering Heights, and Anne's Agnes Grey. Charlotte began her writing career in an attempt to help support her sisters financially. In 1846, Charlotte, Emily, and Anne published their first works, but to get around the prejudice in their day against female writers, the sisters published under pseudonyms. They kept their initials the same: Charlotte became Currer Bell, Anne became Acton Bell, and Emily became Ellis Bell. Charlotte did not put her real name to her work until a year after Jane Eyre had been published. She found enough success from Jane Eyre to be included in the literary social circles of her day, even befriending notables such as William Makepeace Thackeray, who was a fan of her work.

  • Nationality: English
  • Birth Date: 21 Apr 1816
  • Death Date: 31 Mar 1855
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |

Available Works

Jane Eyre (1847)
Jane Eyre is a classic novel by Charlotte Brontë which was published in 1847. Jane Eyre, an orphan, must find her own way in the world while learning about friendship, family, love, trust, societal roles--and how to deal with dark secrets.
The Professor (1857)
The Professor was Charlotte Brontë's first novel, written before Jane Eyre but rejected by publishers until after her death. The book tells the story of a young man named William Crimsworth, from his formative years to his appointment as a teacher at an all-girls school. The story is based upon Brontë’s experiences in school.