Richard Barnum

Richard Barnum

Richard Barnum is a pseudonym listed as the author of the Kneetime Animal Stories series, including T mischievous adventures of Squinty, the Comical Pig; Tamba, the Tame Tiger; Tinkle the Trick Pony; Slicko, the Jumping Squirrel; Don, a Runaway Dog; Sharp Eyes, the Silver Fox; and Mappo, the Merry Monkey. The pseudonym was one of many used by the Stratemeyer Syndicate, a publishing group started by Edward Stratemeyer in 1906. Stratemeyer assembled a group of authors who were paid a flat fee per book and who remained anonymous. A different pseudonym was chosen for each book series. The Stratemeyer Syndicate published several successful series for children, including The Rover Boys, starting in 1899, The Bobbsey Twins, starting in 1904, Tom Swift, starting in 1910,The Hardy Boys, starting in 1927, and Nancy Drew, starting in 1930.

  • Nationality: American
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |

Available Works

Squinty, the Comical Pig (1915)
The readers find out the origin of Squinty’s name. Squinty and his brothers and sisters grow up. Squinty wants to see the world and have some adventures, so he escapes. However, he’s caught by the dog.