Lectures on Ten British Mathematicians

by Alexander MacFarlane

Lectures on Ten British Mathematicians

Lectures on Ten British Mathematicians is a collection of biographies about famous mathematicians from the 19th century.

Source: MacFarlane, A. (1916). Lectures on Ten British Mathematicians. London, England: Chapman and Hall.

The preface to the book.
Chapter 1: "George Peacock"
A biography of George Peacock.
Chapter 2: "Augustus De Morgan"
A biography of Augustus De Morgan.
Chapter 3: "Sir William Rowan Hamilton"
A biography of Sir William Rowan Hamilton.
Chapter 4: "George Boole"
A biography of George Boole.
Chapter 5: "Arthur Cayley"
A biography of Arthur Cayley.
Chapter 6: "William Kingdon Clifford"
A biography of William Kingdon Clifford.
Chapter 7: "Henry John Stephen Smith"
A biography of Henry John Stephen Smith.
Chapter 8: "James Joseph Sylvester"
A biography of James Joseph Sylvester.
Chapter 9: "Thomas Penyngton Kirkman"
A biography of Thomas Penyngton Kirkman.
Chapter 10: "Isaac Todhunter"
A biography of Isaac Todhunter.
  • Year Published: 1916
  • Language: English
  • Country of Origin: England
  • Readability:
    • Flesch–Kincaid Level: 12.0
  • Word Count: 50,325
  • Genre: Informational
  • Keywords: math history
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |
  • Available on iTunes U