Flesch–Kincaid Grade Level 12

Readability levels for passages on Lit2Go are reported as Flesch-Kincaid grade levels which are roughly equivalent to U.S. grade levels.



The Age of Innocence

by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence is a 1920 novel by American author Edith Wharton. The story is set in the 1870s, in upper-class, "Gilded-Age" New York City. The story centers on an upper-class couple's impending marriage, and the introduction of the bride's cousin, plagued by scandal, whose presence threatens their happiness. The novel is noted for Wharton's attention to detail and its accurate portrayal of how the 19th-century East Coast American upper class lived, as well as for the social tragedy of its plot. Wharton was 58 years old at publication; she had lived in that world and had seen it change dramatically by the end of World War I.

Common Sense

by Thomas Paine

Common Sense is a pamphlet written by Thomas Paine. It was first published anonymously on January 10, 1776, during the American Revolution. Paine wrote it with editorial feedback from Benjamin Rush, who came up with the title. The document denounced British rule and, through its immense popularity, contributed to fomenting the American Revolution.

A Defence of Free-Thinking in Mathematics

by George Berkeley

An essay/argument for Sir Isaac Newton and the author’s mathematical beliefs and philosophies. The full title is "A Defence of Free-Thinking in Mathematics: In answer To a Pamphlet of Philalethes Cantabrigiensis, intitled, Geometry no Friend to Infidelity, or a Defence of Sir ISAAC NEWTON, and the BRITISH Mathematicians. Also an Appendix concerning Mr. WALTON’s Vindication of the Principles of Fluxions contained in the ANALYST."

The Flamingo Feather

by Kirk Munroe

When Rene De Veaux’s parents die he goes to live with his uncle, who happens to be setting out on an exploration of the new world.


by Edwin A. Abbott

Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions is a classic 19th century novella that satirizes the social hierarchy of Victorian society using mathematical figures and ideas.

History of Modern Mathematics

by David Eugene Smith

History of Modern Mathematics is a comprehensive guide to different theories and strategies of mathematics ranging from Theory of Numbers, Theory of Equations, Complex Numbers, Calculus, Analytical Geometry, and others.

The Hunchback of Notre Dame

by Victor Hugo

The Hunchback of Notre Dame is a novel by Victor Hugo published in 1831. The title refers to the Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris, around which the story is centered.

Northanger Abbey

by Jane Austen

Northanger Abbey follows Catherine Morland and family friends Mr. and Mrs. Allen as they visit Bath, England. Seventeen year-old Catherine spends her time visiting newly made friends, like Isabella Thorpe, and going to balls. Catherine finds herself pursued by Isabella’s brother John Thorpe and by Henry Tilney. She also becomes friends with Eleanor Tilney, Henry’s younger sister. Mr. Henry Tilney captivates her with his view on novels and knowledge of history and the world. The Tilneys invite Catherine to visit their father’s estate, Northanger Abbey, which, because she has been reading Ann Radcliffe’s gothic novel The Mysteries of Udolpho, Catherine expects to be dark, ancient and full of fantastical mystery.

Northanger Abbey is considered a parody of a gothic novel.


by Aristotle

Physics is one of Aristotle's major works. A collection of lessons, the book covers theoretical, methodological, and philosophical issues of the ideas of motion and change in nature.

The Prince

by Niccolo Machiavelli

The Prince is a simple and straight forward political guidebook for the ruling of autocratic regimes based on the first-hand experiences of Niccolo Machiavelli. 

The Prince was originally published in 1513 and represented an important departure from previous thought. It is seen as part of a larger transition from medieval scholasticism to Renaissance humanism.

Silas Marner

by George Eliot

Silas Marner, published in 1861, is a dramatic novel following the life of Silas Marner and his path from embittered outsider to proud father and respected citizen.



The Emancipation Proclamation

Historic American Documents

by Abraham Lincoln

The Emancipation Proclamation consists of two executive orders issued by United States President Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War. The first one, issued September 22, 1862, declared the freedom of all slaves in any state of the Confederate States of America that did not return to Union control by January 1, 1863. The second order, issued January 1, 1863, named ten specific states where it would apply. Lincoln issued the Executive Order by his authority as "Commander in Chief of the Army and Navy" under Article II, section 2 of the United States Constitution.

Leyenda 13: “La Rosa de Pasión”

Obras de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer — Tomo Primero

by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

A young woman becomes a martyr for the “true” faith and abandons her original faith, Judaism, after learning of her father’s evil plot to crucify her Christian lover. In doing so she saves the life of her lover. In the spot of her death, an unusual species of rose blooms...the Passion Rose. Una jove se martiria por la “verdadera” fe, y abandona su fe original, el Judaismo, cuando deacubre el plan de su padre de matar as su amante Cristiano. En el lugar de su muerte, aparece un especie de rosa especial, que se llama La Rosa de la Pasion.

Leyenda 14: “El Beso”

Obras de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer — Tomo Primero

by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

A young Captain housed in an old church in time of war, becomes enamored with a statue of a beautiful woman which guards her husband’s tomb. Tragedy strikes when in a drunken stupor he attempts to kiss the statue. Un joven Capitan, viviendo en una iglesia abandonada en tiempo de guerra, se sientre atraido por la estatua de una muer bella que guarda la tumba de su esposo. Una tragedia ocurre, cuando borracho, el Capitan tenta besar la estatua.

Leyenda 18: “El Miserere”

Obras de Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer — Tomo Primero

by Gustavo Adolfo Bécquer

A musician seeking to make ammends for his life of sin, attempts to write a “miserere” or Lord Have Mercy, he hears upon visiting an abandoned monastery, where a tragedy is relived every Holy Thursday. Un musico, arrepentido de su vida de pecado y mal, atenta escribir un “miserere” que ha oido cuando visita un monasterio abandonado, donde una tragedia de revive todos los Jueves Santos.

The Camel's Back

Tales of the Jazz Age

by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Camel's Back, a short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald, is the tale of a man in love, Perry Parkhurst, who presents his girlfriend with an ultimatum: get married or end the relationship forever. After ending the relationship, a heartbroken Parkhurst attends the Citrus Ball in a camel costume, determined to win her back.

The Lees of Happiness

Tales of the Jazz Age

by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Lees of Happiness, written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, is a short story about the growing love of husband and wife, Jeffrey and Roxanne. When Jeffrey has a stroke, a close family friend frequently visits and helps the couple through the difficult time.

Load More