Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett, (November 24, 1849 - October 29, 1924) was an English-American playwright and author. She is best known for her children’s stories, in particular The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, and Little Lord Fauntleroy. Born in Manchester, England, she emigrated to Knoxville, Tennessee in the United States after the death of her father in 1864. Following the death of her mother when she was 18 years old, Frances found herself head of the family of four younger siblings, and she turned to writing to support them. She is known for her talent to convey realistic details of working-class life.

  • Nationality: English
  • Birth Date: 24 Nov 1849
  • Death Date: 29 Nov 1924
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |

Available Works

A Little Princess (1906)
Sara Crewe is left in the care of Miss Minchin's Seminary when her father departs for India.
The Secret Garden (1909)
The Secret Garden (1909) is one of Frances Hodgson Burnett’s most popular novels. The book tells the story of Mary Lennox, a spoiled, contrary, solitary child raised in India but sent to live in her uncle’s manor in Yorkshire after her parents' death. She is left to herself by her uncle, Mr. Craven, who travels often to escape the memory of his deceased wife. The only person who has time for Mary is her chambermaid, Martha. It is Martha who tells Mary about Mrs. Craven's walled garden, which has been closed and locked since her death. Mary becomes intrigued by the prospect of the forgotten garden, and her quest to find out the garden's secrets leads her to discover other secrets hidden in the manor. These discoveries combined with the unlikely friendships she makes along the way help Mary come out of her shell and find new fascination with the world around her.