Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz

by L. Frank Baum

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz is the fourth book set in the Land of Oz (though most of the action is outside of it) written by L. Frank Baum and illustrated by John R. Neill. It was published in 1908 and reunites Dorothy with the humbug Wizard from The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. This is one of only two of the original forty Oz books (with The Emerald City of Oz) to be illustrated with watercolor paintings.

Source: Baum, F. L. (1908). Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz. Chicago: Reilly and Britton.

To My Readers
The author tells the readers about the origin of this story and his process.
Chapter 1. “The Earthquake”
Dorothy, her cousin Zeb, her kitten, the horse and buggy fall through a crack, which is quite scary, but the animals begin to talk.
Chapter 2: “The Glass City”
Dorothy and her friends fall softly onto a flat glass roof, discover they can walk on air and that no little person there smiles or talks.
Chapter 3: “The Arrival of the Wizard”
The arrival of the great Wizard to the palace.
Chapter 4: “The Vegetable Kingdom”
The friends discover the little people are actually vegetables that grow from plants. They have to be replanted every five years.
Chapter 5: “Dorothy Picks the Princess”
The evil prince has delayed picking the overripe princess, so Dorothy does when he’s asleep. The prince must go replant himself.
Chapter 6: “The Mangaboos Prove Dangerous”
The vegetable people don’t want “meat people” around and drive the group towards a pit despite the Wizard’s magic tricks.
Chapter 7: “Into the Black Pit and Out Again”
With their lantern, Dorothy and friends follow a long, steep tunnel inside the pit.
Chapter 8: “The Valley of Voices”
Dorothy and the gang come upon invisible people and animals that live there. They learn not to eat the fruit.
Chapter 9: “They Fight the Invisible Bears”
Dorothy and her friends learn how to walk on water.
Chapter 10. “The Braided Man of Pyramid Mountain”
A crazy old man sells Dorothy and the gang his useless wares.
Chapter 11: “They Meet the Wooden Gargoyles”
Dorothy and her friends come upon the flying gargoyles (or “gurgles” as she calls them).
Chapter 12: “A Wonderful Escape”
Dorothy and her friends start a roaring fire
Chapter 13: “The Den of the Dragonettes”
Dorothy and her friends come upon the dragonettes.
Chapter 14: “Ozma Uses the Magic Belt”
Ozma transports Dorothy to her. She then sends for the others.
Chapter 15: “Old Friends Are Reunited”
The Scarecrow, Tinman, Lion and others welcome Dorothy.
Chapter 16: “Jim, the Cab-Horse”
Jim meets the Sawhorse and Dorothy talks to a deer head.
Chapter 17: “The Nine Tiny Piglets”
We learn more about a parade, tricks, games. Jim loses a race.
Chapter 18: “The Trial of Eureka the Kitten”
A piglet is missing and Eureka seems guilty.
Chapter 19: “The Wizard Performs Another Trick”
Eureka finally comes clean with the truth.
Chapter 20: “Zeb Returns to the Ranch”
Homesickness now hits the friends. They go home to Kansas.
  • Year Published: 1908
  • Language: English
  • Country of Origin: United States of America
  • Readability:
    • Flesch–Kincaid Level: 6.0
  • Word Count: 45,846
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Keywords: 20th century literature, american literature, books of oz, l. frank baum, self-help
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |
  • Available on iTunes U