Flappers and Philosophers

by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Flappers and Philosophers

Flappers and Philosophers was the first collection of short stories written by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Source: Fitzgerald, S. (1920). Flappers and Philosophers. New York, NY: Doubleday, Page & Company.

The Offshore Pirate
Ardita rebels against her uncle, who wishes her to behave as a respectable lady. He leaves her alone, and the ship is taken by Carlyle and his group of pirates. Things aren't all as they seem.
The Ice Palace
Sally Carrol thinks that she wants a different life than the one she leads in the South, with a man who isn't like the boys she grew up with. Her engagement to Henry and her trip North show her what that different life would be like.
Head and Shoulders
Horace Tarbox is known as a prodigy. He sees a plan for his life, until he meets Marcia Meadow. The knock at his door changes all the plans he thought he had.
The Cut-Glass Bowl
Evylyn and Harold Piper experience many events throughout their marriage, some pleasant and some tragic.
Bernice Bobs Her Hair
Marjorie's attempts to improve Bernice's social skills has unexpected consequences.
In the midst of a major life decision, Lois reacquaints herself with her older brother who is training to be a Jesuit priest.
The Four Fists
Samuel Meredith recalls some pivotal moments in his life.
  • Year Published: 1920
  • Language: English
  • Country of Origin: United States of America
  • Readability:
    • Flesch–Kincaid Level: 6.8
  • Word Count: 62,469
  • Genre: Realism
  • Keywords: fiction, short story
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |
  • Available on iTunes U