Peter Pan

by J.M. Barrie

Peter Pan

Peter Pan (also known as the Boy Who Wouldn't Grow Up or Peter and Wendy) is the story of a mischievous little boy who can fly, and his adventures on the island of Neverland with Wendy Darling and her brothers, the fairy Tinker Bell, the Lost Boys, the Indian princess Tiger Lily, and the pirate Captain Hook.

Source: Barrie, J. M. (1911)Peter and Wendy.

Chapter 1: Peter Breaks Though
The reader is introduced to the Darling family. Wendy has her first encounter with Peter Pan.
Chapter 2: The Shadow
With his shadow captured, Peter is forced to return to the Darling home and face Nana.
Chapter 3: Come Away, Come Away!
With Wendy's parents now absent, Peter Pan and Tinkerbell pay a visit to the Darling children.
Chapter 4: The Flight
Peter, Tinkerbell, and the Darling children take flight as they make their way to Neverland.
Chapter 5: The Island Come True
Having arrived in Neverland, Wendy and her brothers are introduced to the lost boys. Captain Hook, sensing his nemesis has returned, continues to plot his revenge. Tinkerbell's jealousy of Wendy continues to grow.
Chapter 6: The Little House
Wendy takes her role as mother to the lost boys very seriously and earnestly tries to make their house a home.
Chapter 7: The Home Under the Ground
Wendy, Michael, and John are fitted for their trees. Wendy continues to perform her duties diligently, but finds that her memory is starting to fail her. Captain Hook continues to seek revenge.
Chapter 8: The Mermaids' Lagoon
A peaceful visit to the Mermaid's Lagoon is interrupted by the arrival of pirates.
Chapter 9: The Never Bird
Peter and the Never Bird help each other out of a bind.
Chapter 10: The Happy Home
Peter's rescue of Tiger Lily has unexpected benefits. Peter, Wendy and the boys make their way home. Tinkerbell's jealousy continues to grow.
Chapter 11: Wendy's Story
Wendy's telling of a bedtime story causes her, Michael, and John to become homesick.
Chapter 12: The Children are Carried Off
The pirates undertake a surprise attack on the Lost Boys' hideout.
Chapter 13: Do You Believe in Fairies?
Having been deceived by the pirates, the Lost Boy's emerge from hiding only to be taken captive.
Chapter 14: The Pirate Ship
Back on the Jolly Roger a despondent Captain Hook prepares the plank as he laments the absence of Peter Pan. A familiar sound evokes great fear in the captain.
Chapter 15: "Hook or Me This Time"
Peter Pan quietly boards the Jolly Roger in an attempt to rescue Wendy and the Lost Boys. Peter and Captain Hook face each other one more time.
Chapter 16: The Return Home
Having taken control of the Jolly Roger, Peter navigates the ship back to London. Wendy decides where her true place is.
Chapter 17: When Wendy Grew Up
A relieved Mrs. Darling provides a home for the Lost Boys. Fearing an unwanted transformation, Peter departs after making a promise to Wendy. As time passes, so does the Darling home.
  • Year Published: 1911
  • Language: English
  • Country of Origin: Scotland
  • Readability:
    • Flesch–Kincaid Level: 7.5
  • Word Count: 50,959
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Keywords: 20th century literature, british literature, children’s literature, peter pan, scottish authors
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |
  • Available on iTunes U