Seven O’Clock Stories

by Robert Gordon Anderson

Seven O’Clock Stories

Seven O’Clock Stories is a collection of children’s stories about Marmaduke, the Jehosophat, and the Toyman.

Source: Anderson, R. G. (1920). Seven O’Clock Stories. New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons: The Knickerbocker Press.

“First Night: The Three Happy Children”
An introduction to the family in the story, which focuses on the three children Jehosophat, Marmaduke, and Hepzebiah.
“Second Night: The Playmates of the Three Happy Children”
An introduction to the animals on the family’s farm. They are considered part of the family because they are the playmates of the children.
“Third Night: Noisy Folks”
The description of the first and second cousins of chickens: ducks and geese. These are part of the barnyard friends that are playmates to the three children.
“Fourth Night: Just Before Supper”
The story continues in its description of the cows and horses in the barnyard with anecdoctes from the children.
“Fifth Night: The Toyman”
The story continues with the description of the beloved Toyman. He is a hired hand of the barnyard that makes toys for the children by the fire and takes them on fun adventures. In this short story the Toyman takes the children fishing.
“Sixth Night: The Willow Whistle”
The Toyman makes the three children whistles from a weeping willow and they serve as a bird call for Orioles.
“Seventh Night: Mr. Scarecrow”
The Toyman teaches the function of a scarecrow and why crows are bad for the corn crops.
“Eighth Night: The Prettiest Fairy Story in the World”
Mother teaches the three children how to garden and describes it as a fairy story to peak their interest. When their hard work is finished, the reap the benefits from their personal gardens.
“Ninth Night: Another True Fairy Story”
The three children ask Mother to show them another story. She shows them the Orioles as they return from the south in mid-May to build their nest.
“Tenth Night: The Happy Ending of the Oriole’s Story”
Mother and the children continue to watch the life of the Orioles and other neighboring bird families.
“Eleventh Night: Mother Hen and Robber Hawk”
The children watch the growth of baby chicks until a hawk comes to prey on them. The Toyman shoots the hawk and buries him next to the dead crow as a warning to evil-doers.
“Twelfth Night: About Duckie the Stepchild and the Little Ship”
The three children watch the Toyman make a boat for them to play with. As they play they also hear the commentary of the various animals in the barnyard.
“Thirteenth Night: The Tall Enemy”
The three children play a war game in the first snow of the winter. The Toyman builds six snow men and the children fight them with snow balls.
“Fourteenth Night: The Sleigh and the Tiny Reindeer”
Marmaduke is sick and has to stay in bed. He becomes very lonely because his siblings were sent to visit their uncle until he Marmaduke recovers. The Toyman visits him and sings to him while making him a special toy to help cheer him up.
“Fifteenth Night: Jack Frost and the Man-in-the-Moon”
Marmaduke has a dream while he is ill and meets Jack Frost, who takes him on a fun adventure in his toy sleigh.
“Sixteenth Night: Sloshin’”
Jehosophat disobeys Mother by sloshing through muddy water when she told him not to. He is overcome with guilt and eventually apologizes to her for disobeying her orders.
“Seventeenth Night: The Circus Comes to Town”
In this story the circus comes to town and the three children enjoy the spectacle.
“Eighteenth Night: The Jolly Clown”
This story continues the adventure of the circus from the previous chapter. Marmaduke gets lost and meets many different characters in the circus. He meets Tody the Clown who helps him find the Toyman.
“Nineteenth Night: Wienerwurst’s Brave Battle”
On Jehosophat’s birthday, he receives a pony and a dog-cart. Wienerwurst and a bad dog get into a fight and both dogs are injured, but Wienerwurst recovers.
“Twentieth Night: The Lions of the North Wind”
Marmaduke becomes frightened in the night by the sound of the North Wind. The Toyman comforts him and tells him a story to calm his fears that will allow him to sleep. Marmaduke and the Toyman recognize a special friendship between them as he drifts off to sleep.
  • Year Published: 1920
  • Language: English
  • Country of Origin: United States of America
  • Readability:
    • Flesch–Kincaid Level: 4.3
  • Word Count: 33,617
  • Genre: Adventure
  • Keywords: children's stories
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |
  • Available on iTunes U