Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was a Scottish author who found fame writing about the detective Sherlock Holmes. Doyle was a prolific writer who also wrote science fiction, historical novels, plays, romances, poetry, and non-fiction, and in an effort to get away from writing about Holmes and concentrate on other projects, he famously killed the character in 1893's story "The Final Problem." Holms fans were so outraged that Doyle brought him back. All told, Doyle wrote the beloved character into 56 short stories and four novels, and many authors since have continued his adventures.

  • Nationality: Scottish
  • Birth Date: 22 May 1859
  • Death Date: 7 July 1930
  • ✎ Cite This
  • Share |

Available Works

The Mystery of Cloomber (1889)
Narrated by John Fothergill West, a Scottish man, who moves from Edinburgh to Wigtownshire to care for the family estate when his father's half brother dies. Near the estate is The Cloomber Hall, for years uninhabited, but now the residence of John Berthier Heatherstone, a general of the Indian Army. General Heatherstone is an anxious man, apprehensive about someone he offended in India. The Mystery of Cloomber unfolds, revealing Heathstone's war crime against a Buddhist priest.
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (1892)
Beyond the City (1892)
In Beyond the City, the desire for money and romance drives the characters beyond the typical boundaries of their middle class Victorian lives. Lust, deceit, and financial scandals rock their placid world.
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (1894)
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of Sherlock Holmes stories originally published in 1894.
The Return of Sherlock Holmes (1905)
The book was first published in 1905 and was the first Holmes collection since 1893, when Holmes had "died" in "The Final Problem". Having published The Hound of the Baskervilles in 1901–1902, which was set before Holmes' "death", Doyle came under intense pressure to revive his famous character. The first story is set in 1894 and has Holmes returning in London and explaining the period from 1891–1894, a period called "The Great Hiatus" by Sherlockian enthusiasts. Also of note is Watson's statement in the last story of the cycle that Holmes has retired, and forbids him to publish any more stories.
His Last Bow: A Reminiscence of Sherlock Holmes (1917)
Tales of Terror and Mystery (1922)
Tales of Terror and Mystery is a volume of non-Sherlock Holmes stories by the masterful creator of the inimitable detective.